Robyn Hadley ’85, Roy Cooper ’79 receive Davie Awards from UNC–Chapel Hill Board of Trustees

News & Spotlights | December 8, 2021

The Old Well in fall.

Two Morehead-Cain Alumni have received the 2021 William Richardson Davie Award, the highest honor bestowed by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Board of Trustees.

Robyn Hadley ’85 of Charlottesville, Virginia, and North Carolina Governor Roy Cooper ’79 of Raleigh, North Carolina, were among the six recipients announced in November. The award recognizes individuals who “exemplify dedication, commitment, and service to the University,” according to UNC–Chapel Hill’s press release.

More about Robyn

Hadley is vice president and chief student affairs officer for the University of Virginia. She previously worked at Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri, as associate vice chancellor for student affairs.

After receiving her bachelor’s degree in public policy analysis from Carolina, Hadley was awarded the Rhodes Scholarship to pursue graduate studies in political science at Oxford University.

More about Cooper

Cooper is the 75th governor of North Carolina. Prior to the role, the alumnus served as state attorney general for 15 years. The attorney and politician has also served in the North Carolina General Assembly, the North Carolina House of Representatives, and the North Carolina Senate.

A double alumnus of Carolina, Cooper earned a JD from the UNC School of Law in 1982.

The four other recipients of the award included Jean Kitchin, North Carolina Speaker of the House Tim Moore, and Roy and Wanda Williams.