Fifty-seven UNC–Chapel Hill faculty, staff honored by Morehead-Cain seniors for excellence in teaching and mentorship

News & Spotlights | February 5, 2024

The Morehead-Cain Class of 2024 honored a group of faculty and staff members from UNC–Chapel Hill on January 26 for their excellence in teaching, mentorship, and dedication to student success.

For the 2024 Faculty Appreciation Luncheon, graduating seniors nominated individuals who have had a significant impact on their education, professional development, and personal growth at Carolina. Fifty-seven honorees representing thirty-two University departments and entities were recognized at the event.

Scholars shared words of gratitude for the positive influence faculty and staff have had on their Carolina experience.

Alli Reilly ’24 recognized Professor Susan Bickford, an associate professor of political science, for structuring course assignments and in-class activities that “maximize student engagement and learning outcomes.”

“Her classroom is always an inclusive and thought-provoking environment,” Alli said.

Several scholars, including Michael O’Brien ’24, shared that the mentorship they’ve received from the University community has helped them plan for life after graduation.

“Professor Daye helped me re-define my artistic and professional goals,” Michael said of Tyree Daye, an assistant professor of English and comparative literature. “Without his encouragement, I wouldn’t have been able to take myself seriously as a writer, let alone write a thesis or apply to graduate programs.”

For Ashton Rierson ’24, his classes with Shveta Parekh, a teaching assistant professor of psychology and neuroscience, informed his decision to pursue the discipline at Carolina and beyond.

“Dr. Shveta Parekh is an amazing professor whose love for teaching, care for her students, and passion for the field is evident,” he said. “She’s caused me to love neuroscience research and want to integrate it into all my future career plans.”

The luncheon took place for the second year at the Morehead-Cain Foundation. View photos from the event.

2024 Faculty & Staff Honorees from UNC–Chapel Hill

  • Jeff Mittelstadt, Executive Director, Ackerman Center for Excellence in Sustainability
  • Eunice Sahle, Associate Professor, African, African American, and Diaspora Studies
  • Rudi Colloredo-Mansfeld, Professor, Anthropology
  • Yalitza Ramos, Director, UNC Campus Y
  • Whitney Edwards, Assistant Professor, Cell Biology and Physiology
  • Gary Pielak, Distinguished Professor, Chemistry
  • Elizabeth Brunk, Assistant Professor, Chemistry
  • Emily Baragwanath, Associate Professor, Classics
  • Al Duncan, Assistant Professor, Classics
  • Kris Jordan, Teaching Professor, Computer Science
  • Richard Marks, Professor of the Practice, Computer Science
  • DeForest McDuff, Teaching Professor, Economics
  • Klara Peter, Associate Professor, Economics
  • Tyree Daye, Assistant Professor, English and Comparative Literature
  • Adam Price, Teaching Assistant Professor, English and Comparative Literature
  • Kym Weed, Teaching Assistant Professor, English and Comparative Literature
  • Lauren Haar, Assistant Professor, Eshelman School of Pharmacy
  • Erianne Weight, Professor, Exercise & Sports Science – Sports Administration
  • Paul Delamater, Associate Professor, Geography
  • Sara Smith, Professor, Geography
  • Melanie Studer, Assistant Professor, Gillings School of Global Public Health
  • Jonathan Weiler, Teaching Professor, Global Studies
  • Matthew Andrews, Teaching Associate Professor, History
  • Lisa Lindsay, Professor, History
  • Louis Perez, Professor, History
  • Eren Tasar, Associate Professor, History
  • Bryan Yackulic, Professional Development and Career Coach, Honors Carolina
  • Chad Heartwood, Associate Professor, Hussman School of Journalism and Media
  • Angelia Herrin, Lecturer, Hussman School of Journalism and Media
  • Steve Hicks, Associate Director, Employer Relations, Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • William Putsis, Professor, Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • Jeanne Bonds, Professor of the Practice, Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • Karin Leiderman, Associate Professor, Mathematics
  • Alex Richardson, Director, National High School Ethics Bowl Parr Center for Ethics
  • Mehmet Kesimer, Professor, Pathology and Lab Medicine
  • Jennifer Klomp, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Pharmacology
  • Geoffrey Sayre-McCord, Morehead-Cain Alumni Distinguished Professor, Philosophy
  • Michael Vazquez, Teaching Assistant Professor, Philosophy
  • Cameron Ballard-Rosa, Associate Professor, Political Science
  • Susan Bickford, Associate Professor, Political Science
  • Niklaus Steiner, Professor of the Practice, Political Science
  • Steve Buzinski, Teaching Associate Professor, Psychology and Neuroscience
  • Vicki Chanon, Teaching Associate Professor, Psychology and Neuroscience
  • Shveta Parekh, Teaching Assistant Professor, Psychology and Neuroscience
  • Kate Reissner, Associate Professor, Psychology and Neuroscience
  • Daniel Gitterman, Professor, Public Policy
  • William Goldsmith, Teaching Assistant Professor, Public Policy
  • Benjamin Meier, Professor, Public Policy
  • Lornaida Avilés, Teaching Assistant Professor, Romance Studies
  • Helene De Fays, Teaching Professor, Romance Studies
  • Serenella Iovino, Professor, Romance Studies
  • Heather Knorr, Teaching Associate Professor, Romance Studies
  • Lynda Stone, Retired Professor, School of Education
  • Jacquelyn Greene, Associate Professor, School of Government
  • John Rubin, Professor, School of Government
  • Bernard Bell, Executive Director, Shuford Program in Entrepreneurship
  • Susin Seow, Executive Director of Development for Scholarship Support, University Development Office
“From post-grad plans to life advice, Dr. Delamater has gone above and beyond an advisor’s call of duty. I’m extremely grateful not only for his role as my thesis advisor but also as a trusted mentor and friend.”
  • Senam Adedze
  • 2024